we met on IG???

no, I was NOT catfish-ed!

Starting off with a little disclaimer that seems necessary, I do not condone making plans in person with EVERYONE you meet on the internet.  This is the third time I’ve done this, and both times have been with girls I have talked to for months prior, followed on every social media network possible, and was absolutely, positively confident in that they are legitimate people.

ANYWAY, so I met this lovely girl, Theresa, in person for the first time today (:

IMG_3307

If you’ve read my “10 things” about me post when you click my “Who Am I” link, you’d know how much effort I put into my Instagram, posting daily photos & making sure each one is edited similarly so they look nice altogether. (@janalyssa365 by the way; [shameless self-promo])

I’ve never really met anyone else who puts as much time & effort into their accounts as I do; most people just do not understand the point!  But then one night a couple months ago, I got a message from this random girl:

(Theresa, if you’re reading this, I hope you don’t mind me directly quoting you, but it’s too cute!)

“Hi! I hope this isn’t weird lol I just wanted to tell you I love your Instagram feed!! Your pictures are so pretty and they all go together so nicely LOL and I think it’s cool how you post daily too. That’s all lol sorry to bother”

IT MADE MY ENTIRE DAY, & TO BE HONEST, IT WAS PROBABLY ON MY LIST OF TOP 10 COMPLIMENTS I’VE EVER GOTTEN, SO OF COURSE I WAS GOING TO KEEP TALKING TO THIS GIRL, RIGHT?

Also, how crazy is it that we both live in Illinois, about an hour & a half away from each other, but still, what are the odds of that!

Now here we are, exactly three months & eight days later, after talking almost every single day about how our days are going, or if something pisses us off, FINALLY meeting in person.  And of course, we decided to meet at a cute coffee shop because again, if you’ve read my “Who Am I” section, I live for finding new coffee shops to try out! That’s another huge thing we found out we have in common right away, so at that point, our instant friendship was a no-brainer.

She told me she was so nervous to send me the message at first because she thought I’d think it was weird, but are you kidding me?! It was the sweetest thing! I can’t explain how grateful I am that she took the time & courage to contact a random person like me just to compliment something as simple as my Instagram feed.

A compliment can go a long way, and you’ll never know how much of a positive impact it could make for someone. There’s really nothing to lose; if you have the urge to express appreciation towards people, do it.  It could be the only thing that makes them smile that day.

For someone who hates small talk, I was initially pretty anxious about our conversations having awkward silences, but that’s why we made sure to keep in touch as often as we could before we met up.  Regardless, there will always be something to talk about. It’s not awkward unless you make it awkward, right? We spent the morning catching each other up on our lives, talking about stupid high school memories, and of course, taking artsy pictures for the ‘gram. (;

Calibré Coffee is now #24 on my list of coffee shops I’ve been to, and it’ll forever be associated with a great memory.

To Theresa: thank you for driving an hour before work just to meet me; I can’t wait to see our friendship grow<3

Screen Shot 2017-06-15 at 2.29.08 PM

 

Leave a Reply

